New NSW halves pairing named for State of Origin III

Parramatta’s Mitchell Moses and Canberra’s Jack Wighton have been revealed as New South Wales’ new-look halves pairing that will take on Queensland in Origin III.

Moses will make his Origin debut at halfback, while Wighton has been elevated to five-eighth in the starting line-up — replacing the injured Penrith duo of Nathan Cleary and Jarome Luai.

Watch The 2021 NRL Telstra Premiership Live & On-Demand on Kayo. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

NSW was dealt a double blow when scans on Luai’s left knee confirmed the Panthers star had suffered an injury to his medial ligament during Penrith’s 13-12 win over Parramatta on Friday night, rubbing him out of Game Three.

It followed the news Cleary had been ruled out of the Origin series finale with a shoulder injury.

Cleary partially dislocated his shoulder early in Game Two, but soldiered on to play the full 80 minutes as the Blues claimed the State of Origin series.

The 23-year-old went in for scans and the Panthers confirmed they had opted to delay surgery until the off-season.

Cleary’s recovery will sideline him for at least four weeks and prompted the Blues to select a new halfback for Origin III.

Parramatta’s Mitchell Moses has been named to make his Origin debut for the Blues in Game Three. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)Source:Getty Images

Moses pipped Rabbitohs halfback Adam Reynolds for the No. 7 Blues jersey.

Elsewhere in the squad announcement, Panthers hooker Api Koroisau has been named on the bench and Melbourne Storm back has been included in the Blues’ extended squad for Game Three.

Queensland is expected to announce its squad on Monday.

NSW will be looking to claim a clean sweep of the State of Origin series in Game Three, which is scheduled to be played on 14 July.

NSW Blues Squad for Origin III

1. James Tedesco

2. Brian To’o

3. Latrell Mitchell

4. Tom Trbojevic

5. Josh Addo-Carr

6. Jack Wighton

7. Mitchell Moses

8. Daniel Saifiti

9. Damien Cook

10. Junior Paulo

11. Cameron Murray

12. Tariq Sims

13. Isaah Yeo

14. Apisai Koroisau

15. Angus Crichton

16. Payne Haas

17. Liam Martin

18. Dale Finucane

19. Nicho Hynes

More to come.

Source: Read Full Article