Phil Gould blows up big time over NRL embarrassment

Rugby league supremo Phil Gould has blown up over the Bunker’s shocking call to award the Sharks an undeserved try in their four-point win over the Dragons on Saturday night.

Video officials Steve Clark and Ben Galea were dropped after gifting Cronulla four points even though replays clearly showed St George fullback Matt Dufty grounded the ball first in the in-goal as he chased a grubber.

Kayo is your ticket to the 2020 NRL Telstra Premiership. Every game of every round Live & On-Demand with no-ad breaks during play. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

Respected commentator Gould was apoplectic when addressing the unforgivable oversight on Nine’s Final Whistle last night.

“How the hell did they get that wrong the other night?” Gould said.

“I mean honestly, of all the things the Bunker should get right, it’s who grounded the ball first. That’s the easy one — that’s why the Bunker was put there!

“They’ve invented a million other things for the Bunker to do which they shouldn’t be doing. They interfere too much. The referees use them too much.

“They make too many subjective decisions that they just can’t do. They haven’t got the knowledge to do it.

“But who got their hand first to the ball? That’s the easy one. If you’re not getting the easy ones right — get out. Go. Gone. Finished. We’ll live with the mistakes. We’ll go with the referee,” he said.

“That’s the one you should get right. That’s why they built the Bunker. That’s why we have a video referee in the first place.

“How hard is that?”

RELATED: Coach fumes over Bunker blunder

There was no doubt Matt Dufty got to the ball first.Source:Supplied

Dragons coach Paul McGregor was equally as scathing after the match.

“Pretty clear right?” he said. “How do they keep getting it wrong and who’s accountable for it? Because it’s a stuff up but in the end, there’s the difference.

“What can I do? I think the person probably watching this and you guys (journalists) should make a song and dance and do something about it because it’s not good enough.”

Dufty was shocked when the decision went the Sharks’ way at the time.

“The boys asked me when it went to video ref, ‘Did you get it down?’ And I said, ‘100 per cent I got it down’,” Dufty said.

“The coach told me after the game that I had grounded it first and I said that I thought I did.

“Even after they awarded the try I was pretty shocked. I asked if we could challenge it but he said it was the video ref.”

Source: Read Full Article