Football fans celebrate as Denmark secure Euro 2020 qualification with 4-1 win

Football fans are celebrating after Denmark demolished Russia 4-1 to qualify for the round-of-16 at Euro 2020.

The Danes had a mountain to climb after losing their Group B opener against Finland in a game that paled into insignificance following Christian Eriksen’s collapse.

Eriksen, 29, suffered a cardiac arrest on the pitch and required CPR before being taken to a local hospital where he was fitted with a subcutaneous implantable cardioverter defibrillator.

Denmark’s team doctor, Morten Boeson, said the ex-Tottenham star “was gone” during one stage of the resuscitation process.

After losing to Finland, Denmark suffered another defeat, this time to Belgium, which meant their final game against Russia was a must-win – and they didn’t disappoint.

Kasper Hjumland’s side put on a clinical display of attacking football, with goals from a Mikkel Damsgaard, Yussuf Poulsen, Joakim Maehle and a Andreas Christensen stunner securing a 4-1 win.

The win was enough to see Denmark leapfrog Finland on goal difference and clinch second spot in the group to secure their place in the last-16.

Fans on social media were delighted, with former Arsenal star Mesut Ozil leading the tributes.

Do you think Denmark can beat Wales on Saturday? Let us know in the comments section.

He said: “What a performance… happy for Denmark – they deserve this so much! Danish dynamite is back.”

Someone else added: “If you’re not buzzing for Denmark you’re no fan of football.”

A third person commented: “So happy for Denmark. Unbelievable how they've been able to pick themselves up after what happened.”

While a fourth Twitter use said: “We’ve been through the lowest of lows but we always kept fighting. I couldn’t be prouder of being Danish that I am right now, For Christian For Denmark.”

Denmark will face Wales in the last-16 of the European Championship after Rob Page’s side secured qualification on Sunday.

The match will take place in Amsterdam at 5pm on Saturday 26 June.

Source: Read Full Article