Karim Benzema wins Ballon dOr as final standings for award confirmed

  • Bookmark
  • For the latest from the pitch sign up for our football newsletter

    We have more newsletters

    Karim Benzema has won the Ballon d'Or for the first time in his career.

    The Real Madrid ace beat the likes of Kylian Mbappe, Kevin De Bruyne, and Cristiano Ronaldo to claim the prestigious title on Monday evening at a ceremony in Paris' Theatre du Chatelet. The French striker, who scored in Real's 3-1 El Clasico win over Barcelona on Sunday, netted 27 goals last season in the league – and was even the top scorer in the Champions League with 15.

    Overall, he scored 44 goals in 46 appearances across all competitions. The Los Blancos skipper led his side to the La Liga title last campaign and the club's 14th European Cup crown.

    READ MORE: Robert Lewandowski misses El Clasico sitter with Barcelona beaten by Real Madrid

    His displays in the Champions League drew huge plaudits, with hat-tricks in the last-16 second leg against Paris Saint-Germain and quarter-final first leg against Chelsea.

    While he scored in the second leg against the Blues , before finding the net three more times across the semi-final against Manchester City.

    It earned Benzema the Ballon d'Or with Sadio Mane in second and De Bruyne making up the top three.

    Do you think Benzema has rightly won the Ballon d'Or? Give us your thoughts in the comments section below.

    His clinching of the accolade also breaks the four-year wait Real Madrid have had in seeing one of their players win – Luka Modric was the Ballon d'Or winner in 2018. Benzema's recognition means he becomes the eighth different Madrid star to collect the award.

    The veteran attacker was crowned the best year out of a shortlist of 30 footballers.

    The Ballon d’Or is awarded for how players have performed in the previous season rather than the calendar year.

    Lionel Messi was not nominated this time around – but he has won the award a record seven times, followed by Cristiano Ronaldo with five. – while three players have won the award three times each, such as former players Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini, and Marco van Basten.


    The victory for Benzema comes as no surprise. The 34-year-old was a huge 1/33 favourite to earn it.

    Ballon d'Or standings

    10. Erling Haaland

    9. Luka Madrid

    8. Vinicius Jr

    7. Thibaut Courtois

    6. Kylian Mbappe

    5. Mo Salah

    4. Robert Lewandowski

    3. Kevin de Bruyne

    2. Sadio Mane

    1. Karim Benzema


    • Three failed transfers PSG 'promised' Kylian Mbappe that have left him 'wanting to leave'

    • Football fans cruelly ask why Cristiano Ronaldo is even attending Ballon d'Or ceremony

    • Antonio Rudiger flies back to Madrid wearing huge bandage following nasty injury

    • Champions League
    • Cristiano Ronaldo
    • Kylian Mbappe
    • La Liga

    Source: Read Full Article