Premier League top scorers: Latest Golden Boot standings with Calvert-Lewin, Salah, Son

Fans have been treated to several high-scoring games since the 2020/21 Premier League season got underway in September, making the Golden Boot race all the more interesting. Last year’s prize was won by Leicester striker Jamie Vardy, who scored 23 goals to claim the award for the first time in his career.

At 33, he also became the oldest player to win the Golden Boot in the Premier League era.

“I’m delighted, but it’s all about the team,” Vardy told Sky Sports after collecting his prize.

“I wouldn’t have been in the position l am with the goals if it wasn’t for them and luckily I’ve put a few of them away.

“I don’t feel my age. Touch wood, I’m not picking up many injuries and I’ll try to come back as strong as l can next year.”

Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Southampton’s Danny Ings came ever so close to Vardy last season, with the pair both finishing just a goal shy.

Flying out of the blocks this season is Everton striker Dominic Calvert-Lewin, who has scored seven goals in his first five games.

“Carlo Ancelotti is on me every day for first-touch finishes and to be in the box, in the right areas,” Calvert-Lewin said.

“It’s nice to know what I’m working on in training is coming off on the pitch.”

Calvert-Lewin, though, can expect stiff competition for the Golden Boot from the likes of Vardy, Aubameyang and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah.

Premier League top scorers 2020/21

D. Calvert-Lewin (Everton) 7

M. Salah (Liverpool) 6

S. Heung-Min (Tottenham) 6

J. Vardy (Leicester) 5

S. Mane (Liverpool) 4

N. Maupay (Brighton) 4

C. Wilson (Newcastle) 4

Bruno Fernandes: Will Fernandes play for Man Utd against Newcastle?
FPL double gameweeks: When are the FPL double gameweeks?
Sports quiz questions and answers for your home pub quiz

P. Bamford (Leeds) 3

J. Bowen (West Ham) 3

Jorginho (Chelsea) 3

J. Grealish (Aston Villa) 3

D. Ings (Southampton) 3

H. Kane (Tottenham) 3

A. Lacazette (Arsenal) 3

J. Rodriguez (Everton) 3

O. Watkins (Aston Villa) 3

W. Zaha (Crystal Palace) 3

Source: Read Full Article