Richards picks Henry as greatest PFA Players' POTY ahead of Ronaldo

Micah Richards picks Thierry Henry as the greatest-ever PFA Players’ Player of the Year – with Cristiano Ronaldo in third – while Alan Shearer selects the Manchester United star at No 1… and puts himself at No 3!

  • The Match of the Day Top 10 podcast decided their best ever PFA Players’ POTY
  • Alan Shearer picked Manchester United star Cristiano Ronaldo as his No 1 
  • He completed his top-three with Arsenal legend Thierry Henry and then himself
  • Meanwhile Micah Richards picked Henry at No 1, Shearer No 2 and Ronaldo No 3

Micah Richards selected Thierry Henry as his greatest-ever PFA Players’ Player of the Year in the Match of the Day Top-10 podcast. 

The former Manchester City defender, and Sportsmail columnist, picked fellow podcast host Alan Shearer at No 2 and Cristiano Ronaldo at No 3. 

Shearer himself, meanwhile, picked the same top-three but in a different order, as he put himself at No 3, Henry at No 2 and Ronaldo top of the pile. 

Micah Richards selected Thierry Henry as his greatest-ever PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Yet Alan Shearer picked Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the award twice in 2006-07 and 2007-08

The pair, alongside Gary Lineker on the show via BBC Sounds, discussed their picks from a shortlist of ten players. 

For Richards, he picked this year’s winner Mo Salah at No 4 – he also won the award in 2018 – and 2014 winner Luis Suarez at No 5. 

As for Shearer, two-time winner Kevin De Bruyne was in at No 4 while Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard – winner in 2006 – came in at number five. 

Completing Richards’ order was De Bruyne at six, Wayne Rooney at seven, Eric Cantona at eight, Gerrard at nine and Gareth Bale at 10. 

Shearer also plumped for Bale at 10, while he picked Suarez at nine, Rooney at eight, Salah at seven and Cantona at six. 

Shearer picked himself at No 3 on the list, while Richards was more generous and went for No 2

Among those to win it two times include Bale, Ronaldo, Henry and Shearer. 

Salah won the award this year, with De Bruyne winning it two seasons running in 2019-20 and 2020-21, with Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk the year before. 

In fact, the last winner who was not playing for Liverpool or Manchester City was Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante in 2016-17.  



1) Cristiano Ronaldo

2) Thierry Henry

3) Alan Shearer

4) Kevin De Bruyne

5) Steven Gerrard 

6) Eric Cantona 

7) Mo Salah 

8) Wayne Rooney 

9) Luis Suarez 

10) Gareth Bale  


1) Thierry Henry

2) Alan Shearer 

3) Cristiano Ronaldo 

4) Mo Salah 

5) Luis Suarez 

6) Kevin De Bruyne 

7) Wayne Rooney 

8) Eric Cantona 

9) Steven Gerrard 

10) Gareth Bale  

 Source: BBC 


Share this article

Source: Read Full Article