NZ register historic Test win over India

New Zealand have beaten top-ranked India by 10 wickets in the series-opening match, posting their 100th win in Tests and inflicting India’s first loss in eight matches in the ICC Test Championship.

Tom Latham finished seven not out while Tom Blundell was two as they knocked off the nine runs needed for victory in just 10 balls after the visitors were dismissed for 191 in their second innings.

Watch the New Zealand v India Test Series & more international cricket LIVE with FOX CRICKET on KAYO. New to Kayo? Get your 14-day free trial & start streaming instantly >

Virat Kohli of India and Kane Williamson of New Zealand shake hands at the conclusion of the Test. Picture: Hagen Hopkins/Getty ImagesSource:Getty Images

Trent Boult and Tim Southee had ripped through India’s lower middle order and dismissed the visitors about 40 minutes before lunch with a lead of just eight runs after the hosts had scored 348 in their first innings.

India started the day on 4-144, still 39 runs behind and staring at a potential first defeat.

Boult and Southee, however, dismissed both of the last recognised batsmen in Ajinkya Rahane (29) and Hanuma Vihari (15) in the first 20 minutes and then ran through the rest of the line-up with Southee finishing with 5-61.

New Zealand’s Tim Southee, finished with five wickets in the second innings. Picture: AP Photo/Ross SetfordSource:AP

“It was an outstanding effort over the space of four days,” New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said. “We know how strong this Indian team is all round the world.

“The efforts that went into that first innings, to put the ball in the right areas for long periods of time (were crucial), and I think with the bat to get what was a very competitive total on a surface that I thought was a very good one, that offered right throughout the match.” India captain Virat Kohli rued losing the toss.

“Day one it was probably the toss that turned out to be very important,” Kohli said.

“But as a batting unit we take a lot of pride in being competitive and we were just not competitive enough.”


India 1st innings 165 (A. Rahane 46; K. Jamieson 4-39, T. Southee 4-49)

New Zealand 1st innings 348 (K. Williamson 89, R. Taylor 44, K. Jamieson 44; I. Sharma 5-68, R. Ashwin 3-99)

India 2nd innings (overnight 144-4)

P. Shaw c Latham b Boult 14

M. Agarwal c Watling b Southee 58

C. Pujara b Boult 11

V. Kohli c Watling b Boult 19

A. Rahane c Watling b Boult 29

H. Vihari b Southee 15

R. Pant c Boult b Southee 25

R. Ashwin lbw Soutee 4

I. Sharma lbw de Grandhomme 12

M. Shami not out 2

J. Bumrah c sub (Mitchell) b Southee 0

Extras (w2) 2

Total (all out, 81 overs) 191

Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Shaw), 2-78 (Pujara), 3-96 (Agarwal), 4-113 (Kohli), 5-148 (Rahane), 6-148 (Vihari), 7-162 (Ashwin), 8-189 (Sharma), 9-191 (Pant), 10-191 (Bumrah)

Bowling: Southee 21-6-61-5, Boult 22-8-39-4, de Grandhomme 16-5-28-1, Jamieson 19-7-45-0 (2w), Patel 3-0-18-0

New Zealand 2nd innings

T. Latham not out 7

T. Blundell not out 2

Extras 0

Total (0 wickets, 1.4 overs) 9

Bowling: Sharma 1-0-8-0, Bumrah 0.4-0-1-0

Result: New Zealand won by 10 wickets

Toss: New Zealand

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG), Aleem Dar (PAK) TV Umpire: Michael Gough (ENG) Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle

Originally published asNZ register historic Test win over India

Source: Read Full Article